Saint Marie Records

The High Violets - Heroes And Halos SMR086


**NOTICE** the remaining vinyl we have for this release might have a slight seam split on the jacket... damage varies but otherwise perfect. These are the last of them!

Pressing Information

Release Date: 4/1/16

Vinyl limited to 250, high quality vinyl sleeves / printed inner sleeves with download card. 100 Black / 150 Ultra Clear with Blue Haze.

Heroes and Halos opens with two sharp hits on the snare, like two quick blows to the head, and then you’re inside and it’s happening all around you. ‘How I Love (Everything About You)’ stops you in your tracks. The High Violets make you put down that chocolate chip muffin and listen.

These dreampop vets sound like a delirious mix of Lush and Slowdive, and their fifth album finds them looking to the skies, a cathedral of color, a stadium of sound. Listen to the way the chorus in ‘Long Last Night’ keeps climbing and climbing until your agoraphobia kicks in and you have to grab onto something to keep from falling out of your chair.

Then there’s the sinister groove of ‘Longitude,’ the majestic bliss of ‘Ease On,’ one great song after another, all awash in hooks that swoon and dive.

The album ends with the sparse burned-out waltz of ‘Hearts In Our Throats.’ Kaitlyn ni Donovan’s vocals accompanied by a hollow drum machine—it sounds like the sun coming up after a night of sensory overload, when all you want to do is sleep but your brain won’t stop spinning and so there’s nothing to do but look out the window and contemplate the future, your breath forming patterns against the glass, as another morning arrives.

They’re from Portland, Oregon. They’ve been doing this for years. They know where all your buttons are and exactly how to push them. Like an open-mouth kiss, an unexpected present from a secret admirer, Heroes and Halos makes your ears ring with joy and your heart thump with wonder. It’s the greatest moment in a career of great moments. It’s The High Violets. It’s happening.

01. How I Love
02. Dum Dum
03. Long Last Night
04. Break A Heart
05. Bells
06. Heroes And Halos
07. Longitude
08. Ease on
09. Comfort In Light
10. Hearts In Our Throats